Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Mountains of Switzerland, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oscar Navarro

Oscar Navarro

Subtitle: Symphonic Poem for Wind Band

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Óscar Navarro
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €210.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Piccolo Trumpet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone

Polka Quintet, including:

  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
  • B-flat Trumpet
  • Trombone
  • Tuba



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Mountains of Switzerland is a symphonic poem inspired by the valleys and mountains representative of Switzerland.

The route is seen through the eyes of an eagle that rises up in flight and crosses the extensive valleys and mountains that cover the whole geography of the country, such as the Swiss Alps, the birth of the Rhine River, the great and deep valleys, and the extensive meadows in which the eagle stops to take a break and watch the cows graze. In the distance, like a murmur, we hear soft musical notes coming from a small village. A festive melody performed by a typical group of musicians that gradually immerses us in the party in the village tavern, making us part of it. Once the party ends, the eagle again takes flight to return to where he came from, leaving behind the green meadows, mountains, rivers and those festive musical notes that continue to resound from the small village.

The Mountains of Switzerland is an energetic work, full of color and freshness that unleashes the imagination; a tour of one of the most impressive places on the planet that will make us feel one of the pleasures most desired by human beings, such as that of feeling free and flying.

- Program Note by composer

Obra encargada para el XXIV Bernische Kantonal-Musikfest, 2019.s

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Navarro, O. (2018). The Mountains of Switzerland: Symphonic Poem for Wind Band [score]. Óscar Navarro Music: [Madrid, Spain].
  • Oscar Navarro website – Accessed 21 December 2020