Moment for Morricone

From Wind Repertory Project
Ennio Morricone

Ennio Morricone (arr. Johan de Meij)

Subtitle: Music from Once upon a Time in the West and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.

= General Info

Year: 1966 / 1996
Duration: c. 8:25
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €150.33   |   Score Only (print) - €25.20

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe/Soprano Saxophone
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet/E-flat Flugelhorn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Tenorhorn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass (or Bass Guitar)
Guitar/Banjo (optional)
Harp (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Coconut Shells
  • Drum Set
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Temple Blocks
  • Xylophone

SATB Choir (optional)


In Score:

  • Arranger's name is spelled Johan de Mey rather than Johan de Meij.

Program Notes

This timeless film music brings a feeling of the Wild West. Director Sergio Leone gave a simple yet effective development of the story, which touched many people. Once Upon a Time in the West has long been considered one of the best westerns of all time. The composer of the film’s music was the Italian Ennio Morrocone. He composed for many other films (e.g., The Good, the Bad and the Ugly) as well as other classical orchestral music. This arrangement is a medley of three different themes from Once Upon a Time in the West and two themes from The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • De Meij, J.; Morricone, E. (1966). Moment for Morricone: For Band [score]. Molenaar's Muziekcentrale: Wormerveer, Neth.
  • Ennio Morricone website – Accessed 3 June 2022
  • Perusal score