Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Mock Morris

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Percy Aldridge Grainger

Percy Aldridge Grainger (trans. Joseph Kreines)

General Info

Year: 1910 / 1991
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: String ensemble
Publisher: Ludwig Masters Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Grainger produced several versions of Mock Morris for different media. This transcription is based on the string orchestra version, composed in 1910, but takes several scoring ideas from the 1950 version which Grainger made for Leopold Stokowski. The composition is best described by Grainger in the preface to the string orchestra score: "No folk-music tune stuffs at all are used herein. The rhythmic cast of the piece is Morris-like, but neither the build of the tunes nor the general lay-out of the the form keeps to the Morris dance shape."

- Program note by Joe Kreines

While many of Grainger’s works incorporate and feature these collected folk songs, Mock Morris is an original work. Though the composition utilizes original thematic material, the listener might find it difficult to believe that it is indeed original. Grainger repeatedly asserted the originality of the piece to skeptical listeners, while admitting that one theme was “(unwittingly) cribbed from an early Magnificat of Cryil Scott.”

Mock Morris is a buoyant, jaunty romp, inspired by the traditional English Morris folk dance. There have been several settings of the work, but the original was written for a small, six-piece string ensemble in 1910. The American composer and educator Joseph Kreines transcribed the work for band and wind ensemble in 1991.

- Program Note by Gregory C. Depp for the University of Texas Symphony Band concert program, 7 December 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Kentucky Wesleyan College (Owensboro) (Pat Stuckemeyer, conductor) - 24 February 2022
  • Texas A&M University (College Station) Wind Symphony (Timothy Rhea, conductor) - 29 November 2020
  • NorthWinds Symphonic Band (Kansas City, Mo.) (John Bell, conductor) - 23 February 2020
  • Paul R. Wharton High School (Tampa, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Justin O. Swaim, conductor) - 20 February 2020
  • Blythewood (S.C.) High School Wind Symphony (Quintus Wrighten, conductor) - 21 March 2019
  • University of Texas (Austin) Symphony Band (Joshua Gall, conductor) – 7 December 2018
  • University of Iowa (Iowa City) Concert Band (Eric Bush, conductor) – 3 December 2018
  • Penn State University (University Park) Symphonic Band (Eric Bush, conductor) – 25 April 2018
  • Fredericksburg (Tx.) High School Wind Ensemble (Jason Younts, conductor) – 2 April 2018
  • Sacramento (Calif.) Symphonic Winds (Tim Smith conductor) – 18 March 2018
  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) Gold Campus Band (Cory Near, conductor) – 26 February 2018
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Wind Ensemble (Stephen W. Pratt, conductors) – 7 November 2017
  • University of North Carolina, Greensboro, University Band (Joseph Benjamin Jones, conductor) – 1 March 2017
  • University of North Texas (Denton) University Band (Benjamin Blasko, conductor) – 22 February 2017
  • Indiana State University Wind Symphony (Nikk Pilato, conductor) - 16 February 2017
  • The Desert Winds (Las Vegas, Nev.) (Mark Walker, conductor) - 17 December 2016 (2016 Midwest Clinic)
  • University of Colorado Boulder Concert Band (Matthew Dockendorf, composer) – 5 December 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Grainger, P.; Kreines, J. (1991). Mock Morris [score]. Ludwig Masters: Boca Raton, Fla.