Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Mist-Covered Mountain

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jack Gallagher

Jack Gallagher

Subtitle: Fantasy for Symphonic Band on a Scottish Pipe Tune

General Info

Year: 1982
Duration: c. 13:45
Difficulty: VI
Publisher: Jack Gallagher Music
Cost: Contact Composer


Full Score
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III (six players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Glockenspiel (Orchestral Bells)
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Mist-Covered Mountain was commissioned in 1982 by The College of Wooster Scot Symphonic Band, Stuart J. Ling, Director, with support from The College of Wooster Faculty Development Fund. In acknowledgment of the Scottish Heritage embraced by the College, and in keeping with the suggestion of Dr. Ling (who suggested c. six-to-eight possible Scottish folksongs or pipe tunes), the work is based freely upon a Scottish tune titled Chi Mi Na Morbheanna (The Mist-Covered Mountains).

The text of Chi Mi Na Morbheanna is ascribed to Ian Cameron, who is credited with having composed it on the first day of autumn 1856 to a tune known originally as “Johnny Stays Long at the Fair” (cited in Archibald Sinclair: The Gaelic Songster. An t-Òranaiche: no, Co-thional taghte do òrain ùr agus shean, Glasgow, 1879). The tune was played by the U.S. Air Force Pipers at the funeral of President John F. Kennedy in 1963.

Mist-Covered Mountain: Fantasy for Symphonic Band on a Scottish Pipe Tune consists of four main sections: (1) a slow introduction and chorale derived from fragments of the tune; (2) a fast main section developed from the chorale and other thematic elements; (3) a slow episode built on the first four notes of the tune, followed by a rhythmically altered, polytonal development of its first phrase; and (4) a modified return of the fast section and peroration during which the tune coalesces into its most complete form.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


  • The College of Wooster Scot Symphonic Band (Nancy Ditmer, conductor) - 29 April 2007
  • Valparaiso Chamber Concert Band (Jeffrey Doebler, conductor) - 27 April 2007

Works for Winds by This Composer