Metamorphosis (Yurko)

From Wind Repertory Project
Bruce Yurko

Bruce Yurko

Subtitle: For Brad Genevro and the University of Texas — El Paso Wind Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 9:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts - $150.00   


Full Score
Flute I-II-III
Flute IV (doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Tom-Toms (5)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Metamorphosis (2019) was written from the University of Texas-El Paso Wind Symphony and their conductor, Brad Genervro. The composer recounts:

I was on a plane returning home from Dallas. My DF-XXXVII Fanfare, composer for Dennis Fisher's final concert with the Symphony Band at University of North Texas, has just premiered and this idea just happened, so I quickly wrote it down, thinking this could lead to something.

Metamorphosis lives up to its name as instrumental choirs present an individual phrase, or an idea, in many different forms. These variations of the main idea can develop both over time or quite immediately. As one choice develops their phrase, another choir interrupts with a phrase of their own. A single musical idea may take the form of a rhythm then possibly be shortened or expanded upon. By exploring the unique combinations of wind and percussion choirs, all the musical ideas are presented in every changing grouping.

- Program Note from University of North Texas Wind Symphony concert program, 29 September 2022


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Symphony (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor) – 29 September 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Perusal score
  • Yurko, B.; Genevro, B. (2021). Metamorphosis: For Wind Ensemble [score]. Murphy Music Press: McKinney, Tx.