Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Edward Gregson

Edward Gregson

General Info

Year: 1979 / 1983
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Novello
Cost: Score and Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $25.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III-IV (II doubling C Piccolo)
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass (4 players)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Blocks (2)
  • Xylophone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Metamorphoses was commissioned by the University of London Goldsmith's College, and first performed in June 1979 with the composer conducting.

Most of the material is derived from the opening motif, a rising chord of minor seconds and augmented fourths. Aleatoric cadenzas for different groups alternate with slow-moving metric passages and a faster ostinato figure on piano. A central section introduces simple electronics, amplification of solo flute and clarinet with an echo device, accompanied first by percussion, later with low chords. The ostinato figure becomes more urgent, finally erupting into an energetic coda, which refers briefly to all of the earlier material.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Norwegian Army Staff Band (Andreas Hanson, conductor) – 9 April 2016 (Oslo, Norway)
  • Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, England) Wind Orchestra (Clark Rundell, conductor) – 5 July 2009 (WASBE Conference 2009)
  • Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, England) Wind Orchestra (Timothy Reynish, conductor) – 2 July 2009
  • Wilmslow (England) Symphony Orchestra – 7 October 2008

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Girsberger, Russ. Percussion Assignments for Band & Wind Ensemble. Volume I: A-K. Meredith Music Publications, 2004, pp. 126-127.
  • Gregson, E. (1983). Metamorphoses [score]. Novello: Borough Green (UK).