From Wind Repertory Project
Christopher Marshall

Christopher Marshall

General Info

Year: 2015 / 2017
Duration: c. 8:10
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass band
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Piccolo Trumpet I-II
C Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Police Whistle
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block (high and mid)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Méndez was commissioned by the Summit Brass for the 30th anniversary of the Rafael Méndez Brass Institute and to celebrate the years of support of the Méndez family to this annual event. The brass version received its premiere 18 July 2015 in Denver by the Summit Brass, Joseph Parisi, conducting.

- Program Note from publisher

In the middle years of the 20th century, legendary Mexican trumpet virtuoso Rafael Méndez (1906-1981) presented hundreds of trumpet trio concerts with his two sons, Robert and Rafael Jr.

Méndez seeks to evoke the atmosphere of those performances and the spirit of the times. It uses as its inspiration five motifs taken from one of the lightest of the Méndez trios, The Brave Matador. To these are added the kind of flourishes that feature in many Méndez compositions and that for many listeners characterize the folk music of Mexico.

This material is embedded in a 12-note theme (Ab Bb Db Gb D Eb E F G C B A) that, in addition to providing significant melodic material, lends the overture a cohesive structure.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Symphony (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor) – 20 February 2020
  • Arizona State University (Tempe) Wind Orchestra (Gary W. Hill, conductor) – 7 November 2018
  • University of Texas (Austin) Wind Ensemble (Jerry Junkin, conductor) – 23 March 2018
  • University of South Florida (Tampa) Wind Ensemble (John Carmichael, conductor) – 1 October 2015 *Premiere Wind Ensemble Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Carmichael, John C. "Méndez." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 12, Compiled and edited by Andrew Trachsel, 994-1001. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2021.
  • Christopher Marshall website Accessed 23 March 2018
  • Perusal score