Meditation from "Thais" (arr. Isaac)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jules Massenet

Jules Massenet (arr. Merle Isaac)

General Info

Year: 1894 / 1950
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Violin and Orchestra
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III-IV
E-flat Horn or Alto
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Marimba


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Massenet’s opera Thaïs is based on the novel by Anatole France. In its original form, the Meditation is a violin solo between the third and fourth scenes of the opera. The band arrangement features a flute solo or section.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

Thaïs, written in 1894, was the most popular of Massenet's many operas. The scene is laid in Egypt in the stormy period when Christianity was battling with paganism for supremacy, and the plot concerns the monk Athanel's attempts to convert the Egyptian priestess Thaïs to Christianity. He succeeds in his mission, but tragedy results for both when the monk falls in love with Thaïs.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band

Meditation from “Thais” is an instrumental entr’acte from Act II of Massenet’s opera Thais, whose libretto relates the encouraged conversion of a beautiful and hedonistic courtesan (Thais) to a life of devotion to God. Originally set for solo violin and orchestra, this beautiful melody has been arranged as a solo work for almost every possible instrument, and for full ensemble performance such as this version for wind band.

- Program Note from University of Wyoming Wind Symphony concert program, 9 October 2022


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Wyoming (Laramie) Wind Symphony (Amber Sturdevant, conductor) - 9 October 2022

Works for Winds by this Composer