Meditation from "Thais"

From Wind Repertory Project
Jules Massenet

Jules Massenet (arr. A.A. Harding)

General Info

Year: 1894 / 1951
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Massenet’s opera Thaïs is based on the novel by Anatole France. In its original form, the Meditation is a violin solo between the third and fourth scenes of the opera. The band arrangement features a flute solo or section.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

Massenet's romantic opera Thaïs was produced in Paris in 1894. The story is set in Thebes, Egypt, where Thaïs, a beautiful courtesan, rules the city of Alexandria by the power of her charms.

In the Meditation, originally a violin solo accompanied by a small orchestra including two harps, Massenet vividly captures the sense of allure and charm with which Thaïs beguiles her suitors, her wiles personifying the struggled between the higher and lower nature of the human race.

- Program Note from score

Thaïs, written in 1894, was the most popular of Massenet's many operas. The scene is laid in Egypt in the stormy period when Christianity was battling with paganism for supremacy, and the plot concerns the monk Athanel's attempts to convert the Egyptian priestess Thaïs to Christianity. He succeeds in his mission, but tragedy results for both when the monk falls in love with Thaïs.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI
  • Louisiana: III
  • Texas: III. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer