Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Matthew A. Browne

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Matthew A. Browne


Matthew A. Browne (b. 1988, Burlington, Vt.) is an American composer.

Matthew holds a Doctoral of Musical Arts degree in music composition, a Master of Music degree in music composition from the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor and a Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder. Previous teachers include Michael Daugherty, Kristin Kuster, Carter Pann, and Daniel Kellogg.

Dr. Browne strives to create music that meets Sergei Diaghilev’s famous challenge to Jean Cocteau: “Astonish me!”, through incorporating such eclectic influences as the timbral imagination and playfulness of György Ligeti, the shocking and humorous eclecticism of Alfred Schnittke, and the relentless rhythmic energy of Igor Stravinsky.

Browne has had the honor to collaborate with such ensembles as the Minnesota Orchesta, Alarm Will Sound, the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, the New England Philharmonic, the Villiers Quartet, the Donald Sinta Quartet, the Tesla Quartet, the PUBLIQuartet, and the University of Michigan Symphony Orchestra.

Recently, Matthew’s music has received honors such as an ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers award (2014), a BMI Student Composer award (2015), Special Distinction in the 2016 ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Prize, a residency at the Mizzou International Composers Festival, winner of the New England Philharmonic Call for Scores (2014), a residency at the Minnesota Orchestra Composers Institute (2016), winner of the American Viola Society’s Maurice Gardner Composition award (2014), and a residency at the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra’s First Annual Composers Institute (2013).

Works for Winds