Marche Écossaise (tr. Onodera) (octet)

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (arr. Makato Onodera)

Subtitle: Sur un thème populaire

General Info

Year: 1891 / 1908 / 2012
Duration: c. 7:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano four-hands
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts – (Print) $36.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (I doubling E-flat Soprano Clarinet)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Tenor Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1891, Claude Debussy accepted an odd commission from a Scottish general named Meredith Reid, a descendant of the 'Lords of Ross'. He asked him to write a march using a traditional melody associated with the Ross clan. Debussy complied with a piece for piano four-hands. In 1908 he made an orchestral version.

The result is hardly an ordinary march. The main melody fits that description, but Debussy subjects it to constant transformation. The music very gradually reassembles and builds intensity, leading to a rousing conclusion, probably the only part of the composition that met General Reid's expectations.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

This arrangement for woodwind octet was commissioned by Shiba Higashi Junior High School Band in Kawaguchi City, Saitama Prefecture (director: Mr. Sankichi Tozaki), and was arranged for performance in the 2011 ensemble contest.

- Program Note by composer, translated with DeepL Translator


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works