Marche Écossaise (tr. Onodera)

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (trans. Makato Onodera)

Subtitle: Sur un thème populaire

General Info

Year: 1891 / 1908 / 2015(?)
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano four-hands
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental ($400.00)


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1891, Claude Debussy accepted an odd commission of a Scottish general named Meredith Reid, a descendant of the 'Lords of Ross'. He asked him to write a march using a traditional melody associated with the Ross clan. Debussy complied with a piece for piano four-hands. In 1908 he made an orchestral version.

The result is hardly an ordinary march. The main melody fits that description, but Debussy subjects it to constant transformation. The music very gradually reassembles and builds intensity, leading to a rousing conclusion, probably the only part of the composition that met General Reid's expectations.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

This small band arrangement was commissioned by the Fujimi Junior High School Band (advisor: Mr. Koji Naito) of Tsurugashima City, Saitama Prefecture, and was arranged as a free (performance) piece for the 2013 All-Japan Band Competition. I used both piano and orchestra versions as a reference for the arrangement so that I could express Debussy's unique sense of color with wind instruments.

- Program Note by composer, translated with DeepL Translator


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphony Band Chamber Players (David Thornton, conductor) - 26 March 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works