Marche Écossaise

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (trans. William A. Schaefer)

Subtitle: Based on the poplar tune The Earl of Ross's March

General Info

Year: 1891 / 1908 / 1964
Duration: c. 6:15
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano four-hands
Publisher: Shawnee Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $14.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (or Piano)
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1891, Claude Debussy accepted an odd commission of a Scottish general named Meredith Reid, a descendant of the 'Lords of Ross'. He asked him to write a march using a traditional melody associated with the Ross clan. Debussy complied with a piece for piano four-hands. In 1908 he made an orchestral version.

The result is hardly an ordinary march. The main melody fits that description, but Debussy subjects it to constant transformation. The music very gradually reassembles and builds intensity, leading to a rousing conclusion, probably the only part of the composition that met General Reid's expectations.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

The work may also be found under the title Earl of Ross's March, and it may have been mistitled as Earl of Roses March.

- Program Note from March Music Notes


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Florida: VI
  • Louisiana: V
  • Tennessee: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Central Michigan University (Mount Pleasant) Wind Symphony (James Batcheller, conductor) – 26 November 2019
  • Santa Clara University (Santa Clara, Calif.) Wind Ensemble (Anthony Rivera, conductor) - 12 March 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Debussy, C.; Schaefer, W. (1964) Marche écossaise : based on the popular tune The Earl of Roses march [score]. Shawnee Press: Delaware Water Gap, Penn.
  • Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music. "Claude Debussy." Accessed 26 July 2019
  • Smith, Norman E. (1986). March Music Notes. Lake Charles, La.: Program Note Press, pp. 104