March from "The Sleeping Beauty"

From Wind Repertory Project
Peter I. Tchaikovsky

Peter I Tchaikovsky (arr. John R Bourgeois)

Subtitle: The Entrance of King Florestan and Court

General Info

Year: 1890 / 2018
Duration: c. 4:55
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00; (digital) - $90.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This esteemed Russian composer is universally recognized as both a master orchestrator and a master of ballet music. His music remains popular not only in the ballets themselves but also in the many dances and suites drawn from the scores. Tchaikovsky's signature on the march form is found in many march settings, including this from The Sleeping Beauty. As it opens the ballet, this resplendent march provides grand entrance music into the regal court of King Florestan.

- Program Note from publisher

For the UTEP Wind Symphony, Dr. Bradley Genervo, Conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works