Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Many Moods of Christmas, The (II)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Russell Bennett

Medley orchestrated by Robert Russell Bennett (trans. R. Mark Rogers)

Subtitle: Suite Two for Symphonic Band

General Info

Year: 1971 / 2019
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Choir
Publisher: Keiser Southern Music, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00   |   Score Only (print) - $13.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. O Sanctissima
2. Joy to the World
3. Away in a Manger
4. Fum Fum Fum
5. March of the Kings


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn I-II (II in default of Oboe II)
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba (optional)
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This edition for wind band is the initial offering of an ongoing series which brings all four of the Robert Russell Bennett suites to the band repertoire. Includes Joy to the World with optional antiphonal Salvation Army brass band; the pastoral symphony from Handel's Messiah Away in a Manger; and a rousing medley of March of the Three Kings and Fum, Fum, Fum.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • San Jose (Calif.) Wind Symphony (Edward C. Harris, conductor) - 12 December 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.