Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Many Moods of Christmas, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Russell Bennett

Medley orchestrated by Robert Russell Bennett (ed. Rehbein)

This work may also be found under the title Suite No. 1 for Symphonic Band.

General Info

Year: 1963 / 2002
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Luck's Music Library
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone

Mixed Chorus


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This holiday medley, a 1963 48-minute medley of Christmas carols, was arranged by Robert Russell Bennett especially for the Robert Shaw Chorale and Orchestra. It includes Good Christian Men, Rejoice; Silent Night; Patapan, and "O Come, All Ye Faithful."

The band transcription by Sonja Rehbein was commissioned in 2002 by the North Suburban Concert Band, Ramsey, Minnesota, John Lace, conductor.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Heart of Texas Concert Band (San Antonio) ( R. Mark Rogers, conductor) - 18 December 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer