Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Manhattan Skyline

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Olivier Calmel

Olivier Calmel

Subtitle: Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Band

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 20:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Saxophone and orchestra
Publisher: La Fabrik’à notes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €390.00


1. 5th Avenue
2. Times Square
3. Central Park
4. Highline
5. Two Bridge
6. Grand Central Terminal
7. Financial District


Full Score
Solo Alto Saxophone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Basque Drum
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Claves
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drum Set
  • Galets
  • Marimba
  • Rainstick
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Manhattan Skyline, Concerto for Saxophone and Wind Band by French composer and pianist Olivier Calmel was originally written for symphony orchestra and premiered on January 17, 2015, by the Semper Fidelis Orchestra, under Ludovic Minne, with soloist Michel Supéra, to whom the work is dedicated. Later on, Olivier Calmel created a version for wind band.

Manhattan Skyline is composed in five [sic: seven] short movements, evoking the first impressions produced by the discovery and exploration of the city of New York.

- Program Note from WASBE


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer