Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Manfred Menke

Manfred Menke

Subtitle: Marimba-Quartett

General Info

Year: 2006 / 2007
Duration: c. 7:10
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manfred Menke
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €26.40


Full Score
Percussion I-II-III-IV (4 players), including:

  • Marimba I-II-III-IV


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

On one hand, the title is an abbreviation for the orchestration: four players, each with two mallets to M play marimbas. On the other hand, the abbreviation M8 stands for a well-known phenomenon, which is described as the "power of habit".

Power comes from doing, and in many disciplines, including in music and sport, the same movement sequences are trained over and over again until a self-evident manual routine is developed. Many contemporaries with "interesting" habits -- good and bad -- can be observed even in the most everyday situations. The problem is, bad habits can be very difficult to break, while cultivating good ones is not necessarily the easiest exercise.

I got the inspiration for this marimba quartet during a concert as part of the "Meisterkonzerte Lohne", in which the string quartet of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra ("Gewandhaus Quartet") played the wonderful music for string quartet by Franz Joseph Haydn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven with virtuosity.

From a technical point of view, there are seven minutes of lively action. Each player only needs two mallets, but there is something to do. It contains many minimalist elements and rhythmic shifts but is more complex than in Miniquintett and has as many odd bars as in my piece for wooden spoons, Eine kleine Tischmusik.

- Program Note by composer (rendered from the German by Google Translate)


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • International Katarzyna Mycka Marimba Academy (Gdansk, Poland) – 6 August 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Manfred Menke website Accessed 27 November 2020
  • Menke, M. (2006). M8: Marimba Quartet [score]. Manfred Menke: [Germany].