Lyn Murray

From Wind Repertory Project
Lyn Murray


Lyn Murray (13 August 1909, London - 29 April 1989, Los Angeles) was a composer, conductor, and arranger of music for radio, film and television.

He came to the United States and attended the Juilliard School of Music.

Murray founded the Lyn Murray Singers, who became known throughout the United States as the featured group on CBS Radio’s Your Hit Parade. Murray worked as a conductor, arranger and producer with such artists as Bing Crosby, Louis Armstrong and Burl Ives at CBS prior to moving to NBC in 1947. The Lyn Murray Singers appeared on Broadway in Finian's Rainbow (1948), singing arrangements written by Murray for the production.

In 1950, Murray moved to Hollywood and began composing scores for feature films, including The Prowler (1951), To Catch a Thief (1955), and Promise Her Anything (1965), as well as creating episodic underscoring for television shows such as The Virginian (1962), Daniel Boone (1964), The Time Tunnel (1966), and Dragnet (1967). He won an Emmy Award in 1986 for his score to the National Geographic special Miraculous Machines.

Works for Winds