Lux Contrapunctum

From Wind Repertory Project
Brett Abigaña

Brett Abigaña

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: World Projects
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
Offstage Solo B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
Offstage Solo B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Lux Contrapunctum was commissioned by World Projects for the Cathedral City Symphony Band.

The piece attempts to depict the sound of starlight, as if the listener was riding that light through time and space towards a distant cathedral. Inside the cathedral, a Baroque organ can faintly be heard playing Contrapunctus V from Bach's Art of the Fugue. The starlight gradually carries the listener closer, until finally, with a bowed cymbal, it streams through the rose window, combining with the Bach into its fully developed form. The solos heard in the latter half of the piece literally spell the names of the individual musicians who played them at the premiere, and the first large arrival of the piece is with a dotted rhythm that spells "Cathedral City" over B-A-C-H in the bass line, finally uniting the two entities. Overall, the piece moves from the general to the specific, culminating on a single, intense pitch.

- Program Note from San Francisco Wind Ensemble concert program, 15 September 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer