Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Lost, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Christopher Marshall

Christopher Marshall

General Info

Year: 2022
Duration: c. 15:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $200.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet (doubling B-flat Piccolo Trumpet)
Flugelhorn I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion (5 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Ride Cymbal (small)
  • Siren
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Toms (5)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Lost was inspired by frequent newspaper notices -- the photo of a missing child along with a second ‘age-progressed’ photo to show what they might look like now. These are published by the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children, their number, 1-800-The-Lost. I thought of the pain that the family of such a child must feel, never knowing whether she was still alive, somewhere out there.

It was not until mid-2021 when Tim and Hilary Reynish, after the untimely death of their own son, commissioned a piece for solo cello and wind ensemble, that this idea started to transform itself into music. However, writing The Lost during the coronavirus pandemic and then the invasion of Ukraine, with searing images of grief on the television screen, and finally the unexpected illness and death of a dearly loved member of our own family, the music evolved into a wider reflection on human loss, with, hopefully, a feeling for some measure of consolation toward the end.

The Lost is built upon seven very long bass pedal points: C,G.A-flat, E-flat, F, D-flat, C. The chords above are played very quietly by four overlapping groups of woodwind, mallet percussion and brass, creating a kind of 'sonic mist.' The solo cello shares the foreground and middle ground in passages mainly of a reflective or nostalgic nature, until an intense climax leads to an expressive soliloquy, The conclusion of the piece suggests some measure of acceptance an calm.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Wisconsin Stevens Point Symphonic Wind Ensemble (John Lynch, conductor; Mindy Park, cello) - 21 November 2022 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer