Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Little Concerto

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Maslanka

David Maslanka

Subtitle: For Six Players

General Info

Year: 1990 / 2012
Duration: c. 9:10
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maslanka Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $39.00; (digital) - $24.00


1. First – 2:05
2. Second – 3:55
3. Third – 2:20


Full Score
Oboe/English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This music was written for talented amateurs in attendance at a summer music conference. The Concerto is very much in a Neoclassic mode. It is in three movements. The fast outer movements are whimsical and tongue-in-cheek. The slow middle movement unfolds soulful melodies.

- Program Note from publisher

In 1990 I was a guest composer for the Chamber Music Conference of the East at Bennington College in Vermont. I was asked to write a piece to be prepared and performed by six amateur players. This led to the idea of a small concerto that would expose them all in a more or less equal way. The Baroque concerto grosso model comes closest to what I have done. My piece has three movements, each calling for a pair of soloists, with the others in more or less supportive roles. The lead instruments in the first movement are Violin and Bassoon, the second Oboe and Piano, and in the third, Flute and Clarinet.

The musical influences are fairly clear. The first movement owes a debt to Stravinsky, the second to Poulenc -- a longtime favorite -- and third to Brahms, with an overlay of my Polish heritage.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer