Lied et Scherzo

From Wind Repertory Project
Florent Schmitt

Florent Schmitt

Subtitle: For Winds and Solo Horn

This work bears the designation Opus 54.

General Info

Year: 1910 / 1988
Duration: c. 10:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Kalmus
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $35.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
Solo horn
C Piccolo
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Horn in F II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

One of the most interesting works by Florent Schmitt is his Lied et Scherzo, Op. 54, which he composed in 1910. The piece was first conceived as a work for double wind quintet, with one of the French horns acting as soloist throughout.

The work was dedicated to Schmitt’s fellow French composer Paul Dukas, who was famous for his own concertante work for French horn, the Villanelle (composed four years earlier in 1906).

Musicologist Pierre Barbier describes Lied et Scherzo as a “surprising diptych” that begins in a “dreamy, passionate” mood followed by a “fantastic, biting scherzo.” To this, I’d add that the music sounds positively “orchestral” in its conception -- notwithstanding the limited number of players. Simply put, it’s a thrilling piece of music.

- Program Note by Phillip Nones


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Symphony Band Chamber Winds (Daniel Johnson, conductor; Ben Wulfman, horn) - 6 October 2023
  • Georgia State University (Atlanta) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Robert J. Ambrose, conductor; Arlet Tabares Martín, horn) - 20 April 2023
  • University of Washington (Seattle) Wind Ensemble (Timothy Salzman, conductor) - 30 October 2022
  • University of Wisconsin Eau Claire Wind Symphony (John R. Stewart, conductor) - 12 May 2021
  • Lynn University (Boca Raton, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Kenneth Amis, conductor) – 7 September 2019
  • University of Missouri, Kansas City, Wind Symphony (Steven D. Davis, conductor) – 12 March 2019
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Wind Symphony (Brandon R. Hults, conductor; Corbin Wagner, horn) – 27 October 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer