From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Wagner

Richard Wagner (tr. Koh Shishikura)

General Info

Year: 1856 / 2015
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts - 9,000 yen   |   Score Only - 900 yen


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxohpone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In December 1856, when Wagner was at work on the first act of Siegfried, he became obsessed with a melodic idea he associated with the legend of Tristan and Isolde. He subsequently broke away from his work on the Ring Cycle until his opera based on Tristan and Isolde was completed. The Prelude and Liebestod (or Love-Death) constitutes the very beginning and end of the opera, in an orchestral combination that was sanctioned by the composer as a separate entity for performance in its own right. The Prelude depicts the unvoiced longing of Tristan and Isolde for one another, and with the Liebestod comes the fulfillment of that longing in their death together, their immortal love being voiced by Isolde as she stands over Tristan’s corpse, contemplates his transfigured soul, and joins it by taking her own life. The work is widely considered among the most powerful and emotionally gripping music ever written. Koh Shishikura’s new arrangement of Prelude and Liebestod for concert band received its world premiere at the 2014 Midwest Clinic.

-Program Note by the Saitama Sakae Wind Orchestra


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer