Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Let the Darkness Out

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Catherine Likhuta

Catherine Likhuta

Subtitle: Concerto for Alto Sax and Wind Symphony

General Info

Year: 2011 / 2019
Duration: c. 11:30
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Alto saxophone and piano
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $215.00


Full Score
Solo E-flat Alto Saxophone
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals (medium)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (large)
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle (medium)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This saxophone concerto version of Let the Darkness Out was created for Michael Duke, John Lynch and The SCM [Sydney Conservatorium of Music] Wind Symphony. In its original 2011 version, Let the Darkness Out is a virtuosic sonata for alto saxophone and piano, and is one of my most internationally performed pieces to date.

Shortly after moving to Australia in 2012, I heard about Michael Duke as one of the country’s most prominent saxophonists and champions of new saxophone repertoire. Incidentally, around the same time, Michael was attending an international conference in the United States and heard about me and my music from the current president of the North American Saxophone Alliance, Griffin Campbell, who had toured Darkness for several concert seasons. Since then, I had great pleasure to collaborate with Michael and his internationally renowned ensemble HD Duo. At some point during our collaboration, Michael came up with the idea to turn Darkness into a saxophone concerto and gave me inspiration and support to make this idea a reality. I felt very comfortable (and excited!) making this new version for John Lynch and the SCM Wind Symphony -- one of the absolute best wind ensembles in the country. Inspired by these fine musicians, the piece aims to highlight the expressive and virtuosic features of a stellar saxophone soloist, matched and supported by a confident and powerful ensemble.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Catherine Likhuta website Accessed 12 February 2021
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 393.
  • Likhuta, C. (2019). Let the Darkness Out : Concerto For Alto Saxophone and Wind Symphony [score]. Catherine Likhuta: [Australia?].
  • Perusal score