Let Evening Come (Grantham)

From Wind Repertory Project
Donald Grantham

Donald Grantham

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 5:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Piquant Press
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental


Full Score
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Let Evening Come was composed in 2013 and uses the text from Jan Kenyon's poem of the same title as its compositional foundation. The score bears the inscription "For Suzy" and is dedicated to the composer's wife, Suzanne Pearson Grantham, who passed away in February of 2013 after a battle with glioblastoma.

The music is characterized by a style that is gentle and flowing while carefully crafted with a stable rhythmic intensity. The work is very tonal in nature and contains an energy created through the use of faster written notation against ever-evolving slower tempi.

- Program Note from Teaching Music through Performance in Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphony Band (David Thornton, conductor) - 21 November 2023
  • United States Coast Guard Band (New London, Conn.) (Jason K. Fettig, conductor) – 20 November 2016
  • Western Illinois University (Macomb) Wind Ensemble (Mike Fansler, conductor) – 26 February 2016
  • Texas All-State Symphonic Band (Jason Fettig, conductor) - 17 February 2018 (2018 TMEA Conference, San Antonio)
  • University of North Texas (Denton) University Band (Kelly Desjardins, conductor)– 17 February 2016
  • United States Air Force Band (Washington, D.C.) (Larry D. Lang, conductor) - 6 March 2015
  • United States Marine Band (Jason Fettig, conductor) - 13 August 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Feagin, T. André. "Let Evening Come." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 10, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 635-641. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2015.