Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Last Days of Pompeii, The (ed Rogers)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa ( ed. R Mark Rogers)

General Info

Year: 1893 / 1912 / 2010
Duration: c. 11:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


1. In the House of Burbo and Stratonice – 3:10
2. Nydia the Blind Girl – 2:30
3. The Destruction of Pompeii and Nydia's Death – 4:55


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II (II doubling English Horn)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV (IV substitute for Alto Clarinet)
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Timpani (also plays Bells)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Stone Cups
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Wood Blocks


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sousa often referred to this as his finest composition and programmed it more often than any of his other suites. He was particularly proud of the original descriptive effects. Perhaps, in an effort to keep these effects exclusive with the Sousa Band, he did not release the work to a publisher until nineteen years after it was written.

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works

This work is based on the 1834 novel The Last Days of Pompeii by Baron Edward Bulwer-Lytton (1803-1873).

a) “In the House of Burbo and Stratonice” Within the room were placed several small tables;
‘ round these were seated several knots of men
drinking, some playing at dice.

b) “Nydia” “Ye have a world of light
When love in the loved rejoices,
And the blind girl’s home is the House of Night,
And its beings are empty voices.”

c) “The Destruction of Pompeii and Nydia’s Death” At that moment they felt the earth shake beneath their feet, and beyond in the darkness they heard the crash of falling roofs. A group of men and women bearing torches passed by the Temple, they were of the congregation of the Nazarenes. The troops chanted along with the wild horror of the air, “Behold the Lord descendeth to judgment. He maketh fire come down from heaven in the sight of men! Woe to the harlot of the sea! Woe!” At that moment a wild yell burst through the air and thinking only of escape, whither they knew not, the tiger of the desert leaped among the throng, and hurried through its parted streams. And so came the earthquake. And so darkness once more fell upon the earth. In the silence of the general sleep Nydia rose gently: “Oh sacred sea! I hear thy voice invitingly. Rest. Rest. Rest.”

- Excerpts from the novel written in 1834 by Bulwer-Lytton


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works