Last Day of the Dinosaurs

From Wind Repertory Project
Javier Pérez Garrido

Javier Pérez Garrido

Subtitle: Sinfonietta nº1, Op.63

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 15:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Pérez Garrido Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact composer


1. A Journey of 66 Million Years
2. The Birth of a Triceratops
3. The Flight of the Pterosaurs
4. Walking with Alamosaurus
5. Velociraptors Go on Hunting!
6. T-Rex Appears on Scene
7. Scape from T-Rex!
8. Dawn of the Final Day
9. The Impact of the Asteroid


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Double Bass
Percussion (up to 7 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo Drums
  • China Cymbal
  • Concert Toms (5)
  • Conch Shell (optional)
  • Conga Drums
  • Crotales
  • Cymbals
  • Darbuka
  • Flexatone
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mark Tree
  • Ratchet
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam (Large)
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblocks (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Last Day of the Dinosaurs is a descriptive sinfonietta that evokes various scenes that happened during the hours before the impact of the asteroid that caused the Cretaceous-Tertiary extinction. It encompasses nine descriptive movements.

A Journey of 66 Million Years represents exciting travel through this lost world. During this movement, spectators can imagine amazing landscapes surrounded by wild nature.

The Birth of a Triceratops is an intimate moment full of tenderness where we can have a look to the birth of one of the most recognized dinosaurs as well as its first little steps.

The Flight of the Pterosaurs stages the flight of a group of pterosaurs, the flying dinosaurs that reigned over the Cretaceous skies.

Walking with Alamosaurus is an intrepid journey alongside the largest dinosaurs that have ever existed, huge herbivorous creatures that reached more than 30 meters in length and 70 tons in weight.

Velociraptors go on Hunting! re-creates a fast and organized hunt in which the velociraptors show their intellectual and physical supremacy over various groups of herbivores fleeing in terror from their predators.

When the hunt develops its entire splendor, a dreaded and hungry tyrannosaur appears attracted by noise and smell of fresh blood. It is the sixth part: T-Rex appears on Scene. During Scape from T-Rex! the herbivores as well as the velociraptors run away as fast as possible for preserving their lives. All of them know they have nothing to do if they face the tyrant king of the Cretaceous.

Dawn of the Final Day puts an end to this violent night of hunting showing the first rays of the last rising sun. The mystery of dawn gives us a sinister sensation; something terrible is going to happen. At the end of the composition the music becomes more violent and aggressive to represent The Impact of the Asteroid that turned the earth into hell. This impact released as much energy as a hundred terratons of TNT, beyond a billion times the power of the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima.

This symphonic work was commissioned by Banda Sinfónica del Centro Instructivo Musical “La Armónica” de Buñol, Spain, to be premiered under the baton of maestro José Tello Espert at WASBE Conference, 2019.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer