Largo and Finale for Brass Choir (from the New World Symphony)

From Wind Repertory Project
Antonín Dvořák

Antonín Dvořák (arrangement by Joel Blahnik)

General Info

Year: 1893
Duration: c. 4:15
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $20.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Trumpet (in B-flat) I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Largo and Finale (from the New World Symphony) was arranged for band by Joel Blahnik. This work was originally arranged for brass quartet for the "Remembering Dvorak Centennial Festival" 1893-1993, celebrating the composer's 1893 summer residency in Spillville, Iowa. In attendance at the Festival were Antonín Dvořák III, IV and V from the Czech Republic.

After the summer of 1893 spent in Spillville, Iowa, Dvořák returned to New York and worked on the New World Symphony with Anton Seidl, the New York Philharmonic's German conductor. The piece was first performed on December 15, 1893. It was reviewed as one of the greatest symphonies performed since the death of Beethoven. Dvořák did not use actual melodies from the African American and Native American cultures, but adapted them to his own original constructions.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works