Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Carl Holmquist

Carl Holmquist

This work is the third movement of the composer's Symphony No. 1, New Orleans Symphony.

General Info

Year: 2008 / 2015
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Lush harmonies, mournful melodies, and a minor-key setting of the hymn tune Nettleton depict a disillusioned New Orleans in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. The piece stands alone on its own, but can also be paired with Play!, the final movement of the Symphony, which represents the resurgence of the vibrant Crescent City.

- Program Note from publisher

This music represents the pain, despair, and disillusionment of the city in the wake of the storm. The melodic material at the beginning of this movement is derived from fragments from the funeral procession from the first movement and from the storm melody from the second movement. Mournful solos by the euphonium, french horn, and soprano saxophone lead us into another statement of the Nettleton hymn tune, this time transformed into a minor key. Finally, the movement ends with the low brass and woodwinds playing repeated descending chords while the "heartbeat" that is played by the piano slows down separately from the rest of the ensemble and dies away.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works