Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

La suite excentrique

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Masamicz Amano

Masamicz Amano

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 12:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Brain Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $140.00   |   Score Only (print) - $22.00


1. Movement One - 2:50
2. Movement Two - 2:34
3. Movement Three - 2:56
4. Movement Four - 3:15


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Harp I-II
Percussion I-I, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Carillon
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Shell Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Machine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

La Suite Excentrique displays Amano’s unique and eclectic compositional style. The composer provides the following notes regarding his work:

The first movement begins as muted trumpets introduce a foggy, hazy view. The atmosphere of a whispering forest follows, concluding with a sudden, grandiose pause. The waltz in the second movement is not bright or saucy like a Viennese waltz, but more Slavic and somehow ethereal. After the trio, a melancholic waltz drifts toward an interrupted conclusion. The third movement expresses abyssal solitude. The stillness suddenly quiets with the tolling of a bell. The fourth movement is framed with violent tutti in odd meter, like bouzouki music. The fierceness persists, warms up, then suddenly finishes with unison major-seventh bell tones. A prominent structural element of the suite is “abruptness,” particularly in the conclusion of each movement.

- Program Note from Baylor University Symphonic Band concert program, 8 October 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.