La Vall de la Murta

From Wind Repertory Project
Andrés Valero-Castells

Andrés Valero-Castells

Subtitle: Symphony Nº 1 : For Symphonic Band : AV43 = La Vall De La Murta

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 23:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Piles
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €278.00   |   Score Only (print) - €33.50


1. Les serres (Cavall Bernat, Les Agulles) ; L'incendi
2. El monestir, 1401
3. Els pirates moros ; El pont de pedra


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone I-II
Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Piano I-II (II optional)
Percussion I-X, including:

  • Aeoliophone
  • Bass Drum (large)
  • Bongos
  • Bramadera
  • Chinese Boxes (2)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Curtains (bamboo and metal)
  • Djembe
  • Gongs (3)
  • Guiro
  • Lira
  • Marimba
  • Metal Plate
  • Ratchet
  • Redoblante
  • Shekere
  • Suspended Cymbals (3)
  • Tam-tams (2)
  • Temple Blocks
  • Timbales
  • Tinkerbell
  • Tom-toms (2)
  • Triangles (3)
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wooden Rod
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

La Vall de la Murta (The Myrtle Valley) (Symphony nº 1, 2001/02-AV43) was commissioned by the band “Sociedad Musical” from Alzira (Valencia, Spain) to commemorate the VI centennial of the Monastery of the Myrtle’s Santa Maria. After been presented in the “Gran Teatro” in Alzira and the “Palau de la Música” in Valencia, the official premiere of the work took place during the International “Certamen de Valencia”, on the 6th of July 2002, by the Band “Sociedad Musical” from Alzira, conducted by Ángel Crespo.

The piece has a notably descriptive character, as a result of the composer’s visit to the valley, which made an intense impression because of its historical value and its beautiful nature.

The first movement is divided in two sections: Les Serres (the Sierras) and L’Incendi (The fire). Two mountains are reflected: the Cavall Bernat and the Les Agulles. The first one, with its noble and quiet aspect, at the same time splendid and solemn, will be one of the most important elements; its musical theme will appear in a cyclic way during the development of the symphony. The second is very different because its visual aspect (tough, sharp, rough, multiform). Finally the music is recreating one of the worst fires that suffered this unique place, in 1983. Close your eyes and for a few moment syou will be able to listen to the most fateful guest you can imagine, the fire.

The second movement is based on the real archaeological treasure of the valley: the “Monastery” (Monestir). The initial atmosphere of deep religious reflection, using Gregorian modal scales, sets the scene for the progressive building of this monastery. Somehow this passage recalls the evolution from the first hermit sects to the full establishment of the Order of San Jeronimo in 1401. This movement finishes with the re-exposition of the monks gently praying in their cloister.

The third movement is again divided in two sections. The Moorish Pirates make their appearance, with the rhythm of djembés, who frequented maliciously the Spanish coasts after the Muslim domination; after they’ve gone, we can again hear peace and monastic recollection. The second section opens with a brilliant fanfare, indicating the arrival of the most famous person that ever visited the valley, Philip II. It’s the year 1586, one of the most splendid moments in Spanish history. This visit was so lavish that they built a new bridge to the monastery, the Pont de Pedra (Bridge of Stone), necessary for the royal coaches to be able to reach the monastery.

- Program Note adapted from composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Andrés Valero-Castells website Accessed 23 July 2023
  • Valero, A. (2002). The Myrtle Valley: Symphony nº 1: for Symphonic Band: AV43 = La vall de la Murta [score]. Piles: Valencia, Spain