La Reine de Saba

From Wind Repertory Project
Charles Gounod

Charles Gounod (arr. Mayhew Lake)

Subtitle: Marche et Cortège

General Info

Year: 1862 / 1927
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
Cornets Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Drums, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Though his operas Faust and Romeo and Juliette are well known, French composer Charles Gounod was never able to duplicate their success, despite numerous attempts. La Reine de Saba, translated as “The Queen of Sheba,” was premiered in February 1862 and, like many other operas, fell into obscurity soon after its debut. The Marche et Cortege is one of the few remnants of La Reine de Saba that is performed today, mostly due to Mayhew Lake’s 1927 band transcription.

- Program note by Brooke Emery for the U.S. Air Force Band concert program, 19 December 2012


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Gounod, C.; Lake, M. (1927). La Reine de Saba: Marche et Cortège [score]. Carl Fischer: [New York]