Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

L'Horloge de Flore

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jean Françaix

Jean Françaix (arr. Ken Watson)

Subtitle: The Flower-Clock

General Info

Year: 1957 / 2018
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Oboe and orchestra
Publisher: Ken Watson
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
Solo Oboe
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II (I doubles Soprano saxophone)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (alt. E-flat Contrabass clarinet)
Horn in F
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by John de Lancie, former principal oboist of the Philadelphia Orchestra, in 1957, this neoclassical concerto was completed in 1959. It remains one of the most popular solo pieces in the oboe repertoire. This is the licensed arrangement for small symphonic wind ensemble (14 pieces, including soloist).

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of South Florida (Tampa) Wind Ensemble (Matthew McCutchen, conductor; Amy Collins, oboe) – 6 October 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer