King Heinrich’s Call

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Wagner

Richard Wagner (trans. John R. Bourgeois)

Subtitle: Lohengrin, Act III

General Info

Year: 1850 / 1983 / 2020
Duration: c. 6:55
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Symphony
Publisher: Wingert-Jones Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $90.00 | Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Solo Euphonium (or Bass Trombone)
Euphonium I-II
Timpani I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Tenor Drum

Offstage B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV-V-VI-VII-VIII


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Lohengrin is a German romantic opera written and composed by Richard Wagner. The opera premiered in Weimar, Germany, in August 1850 under the baton of Franz Liszt. Wagner, who was a noted political extremist, was unable to attend the premiere after fleeing Germany to avoid arrest. Due to his exile, it was necessary for Wagner to delay attending a performance of his opera until May of 1861.

Lohengrin is the story of a knight sent to defend the innocent and noble woman Elsa, who is accused of murdering her younger brother, Duke Gottfried of Brabant. Through trial by combat, the knight reaffirms Elsa's innocence with his victory in battle. Prior to serving as Elsa's champion, the knight requests that Elsa never ask for his name and origin. Elsa breaks her promise, and the knight reveals himself to be Lohengrin of the temple of the Holy Grail. Thus, he is forced to leave, as knights of the Holy Grail are required to remain anonymous. After Lohengrin's departure, Elsa is stricken with grief and dies.

Lohengrin is the source of several popular musical selections that are performed routinely by contemporary music ensembles such as Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral and the Bridal Chorus, which is commonly performed in Western wedding ceremonies. King Henrich's Call (Heil, Konig Heinrich!) occurs in Act III, Scene 3 of Lohengrin. The wind setting of King Heinrich's Call was arranged by Colonel John R. Bourgeois. Colonel Bourgeois is the Director Emeritus of "The President's Own" United States Marine Band.

- Program Note from Auburn University Symphonic Winds concert program, 5 March 2020

The Auburn University Symphonic Winds in March 2020 performed a segment of this adaptation, entitled The Entry of the King, with an octet of trumpets in front.

- Program Note by Wind Repertory Project


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer