From Wind Repertory Project
Brian Balmages

Brian Balmages

Subtitle: The Volcano's Fury

General Info

Year: 2005
Duration: c. 2:37
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $50.00   |   Score Only - $5.00


  • Full Score
  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Timpani (optional)
  • Percussion, including:
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbal (optional)
*Rainstick (optional)
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal (optional)
*Tambourine (optional)
*Tam-tam (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work was inspired by a recent trip to the Big Island of Hawaii, home of Kilauea Volcano. Kilauea is widely considered one of the most active volcanoes in the world, having been continuously erupting since January 3, 1983. It is one of the lew places in the world where visitors can either hike to see the lava flow or take a helicopter tour over the volcano. Currently, the lava flows underground in a lava tube, but it occasionally surfaces before pouring into the ocean. since 1983, it has added nearly a mile to the island's southern shore and covered over 25.000 acres of land.

This work attempts to capture some of the emotion behind such a powerful force of nature. The opening section reflects the peace and quiet preceding the eruption. Bass drum represents the groaning of the volcano as it nears eruption. Eventually, a cacophony of sounds leads to a raucous rhythmic ostinato over which brass and low woodwinds state the melody. A lyrical section then represents the beauty of the lava flow before the mood changes once again to demonstrate the incredible force behind such an event.

- Program note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works