Kenneth L Griffin

From Wind Repertory Project
Kenneth L. Griffin


Kenneth L. Griffin (b. 12 May 1945, Paris, Texas) is an American composer and eductor.

Mr. Griffin received his Bachelor of Science degree from East Texas State University, 1966 and his Master of Science degree from East Texas State University, 1970.

As a high school band director, Mr. Griffin worked at Paris (Texas) High School, 1967-1974, Kilgore (Texas) High School, 1974-1977, and Van (Texas) High School from 1977 to 1997, where his bands accumulated numerous awards. He is currently teaching part-time as band director at St. John Paul II Catholic School in Houston.

He is a founding charter member and executive Secretary of the Association of Texas Small School Bands, is a member of the Texas Music Adjudicators Association and Phi Beta Mu, and serves as a clinician and adjudicator across the state. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame for Alpha Chapter of Phi Beta Mu in 2018 and was the inaugural inductee into the ATSSB Hall of Fame in 2021.

Griffin is a published composer of instrumental and choral music, including concert marches Talion, Day To Day, Where Eagles Dare, First Colony, White Oak, and most recently, Resolution which was commissioned by the Association of Texas Small School Bands to commemorate the twenty-fifth anniversary of the founding of ATSSB in 1991.

Works for Winds