KC Capriccio

From Wind Repertory Project
Chen Yi

Chen Yi

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 4:35
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Score - Rental


Full Score
Flute I-II (1 doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbal (suspended)
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Woodblock

SATB Choir


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by University of Missouri Kansas City Conservatory of Music (Dean Dr. Terry Applebaum), and inspired by the folk tune on the bagpipe that I heard from the lawn outside of the Nelson Gallery and the wild singing sound of the Asian folk choral music, the piece is written for the UMKC Conservatory Wind Ensemble and the Heritage Chorale, for the celebration of Kansas City's 150th Anniversary, premiered on September 28, 2000, at the White Hall, University of Missouri-Kansas City, conducted by Prof. Sarah McKoin, choral director is Dr. Charles Robinson. First Asian premiere is given by the China National Symphony Orchestra and CNSO Choir on March 2, 2001 at the Beijing Concert Hall in Beijing, China.

- Program Note by Chen Yi


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Rowan University (Glassboro, N.J.) Wind Ensemble (Joseph Higgins, conductor) – 28 April 2018
  • Texas Tech University (Lubbock) Wind Ensemble - 4 October 2006
  • Fort Hays State University (Hays, Ks.) Wind Ensemble - 8 May 2003
  • Arizona State University (Tempe_ Wind Symphony - 6 April 2001
  • China National Symphony - 2 March 2001
  • University of Missouri Kansas City Wind Ensemble and Chorus (Sarah McKoin, conductor) - 28 September 2000 – *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer