Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Claude T. Smith

Claude T. Smith

General Info

Year: 1977
Duration: c. 5:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Claude T. Smith Publications, through C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00

For further availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
Condensed Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A most appropriate title since it well describes the composition. The opening is a fast movement stating the theme throughout several sections segueing to the slower middle movement involving bassoon solo before returning to the allegro. Muted trumpets with moving clarinet background precede the brass mixed meter and into the full band lyric statement ahead of the exciting finale.

- Program Note from publisher

To the Central Methodist College Band, Fayette, Mo., Keith House, conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: IV
  • Southern California: III
  • Georgia: V
  • Kansas: V
  • Michigan: Senior High A
  • Minnesota: II
  • Mississippi: V-A
  • North Carolina: VI
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works