Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Journey Through a Japanese Landscape

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Thea Musgrave

Thea Musgrave

General Info

Year: 1994 / 1998
Duration: c. 23:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Novello through Studio Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £169.95   |   Score Only (print) - £39.95


1. Spring – 7:55
2. Summer – 4:25
3. Autumn – 5:05
4. Winter – 5:35


Full Score
Solo Marimba
Flute I-II-III
Bassoon I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam (high and medium)
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-toms(3)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The four movements of Journey through a Japanese Landscape are based on a series of haiku which represent an emotional journey through the four seasons. The solo marimba introduces each on with a ‘peal’ on wind chimes - bamboo for spring, wood for summer, metal for autumn and glass for winter.

The haiku chosen for each of the seasons provide a setting and an ‘event’. Thus the gently undulating spring sea is the background for the free improvisatory character of the skylark (solo marimba).

The summer grasses have buried the glorious dreams of ancient warriors (a march for brass instruments) and after a violent storm, a distant memory of this march is heard on the solo marimba.

An autumnal fog envelopes a colossal Buddha (solo for English horn, with slow moving brass and hovering six-note chords for marimba). The solo flute represents the lonely watcher who sounds "one gong after another”. The cricket (wood blocks, temple blocks and slap strokes on the marimba, over an intoned A flat) is asked to 'act as grave keeper'.

Glass wind chimes introduce the frozen winter landscape. Winds reintroduce the march theme, the ‘lonely’ flute returns, then sleet and snow various drums all played with nylon brushes) build to a big storm. Out of the silence that follows, echoes of the first movement suggest the return of spring and so rebirth.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by the BASBWE Education Trust and a Consortium of Music Colleges (RNCM, University of Warwick, Birmingham Conservatoire, Guildhall School of Music and Drama).

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Girsberger, Russ. Percussion Assignments for Band & Wind Ensemble: Volume 2 L-Z. Meredith Music Publications, 2004, pp. 209.
  • Musgrave, T. (1998). Journey Through a Japanese Landscape [score]. Novello: London.
  • Thea Musgrave website Accessed 22 October 2021