Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Carlos Surinach

Carlos Surinach

Subtitle: From the ballet Suite espagnole

General Info

Year: 1970 / 1976
Duration: c. 11:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: G. Schirmer, through Wise Music Classical
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $61.75   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50

Movements (played without pause)

1. Moderato
2. Allegro
3. Poco Meno Mosso
4. Allegro Molto
5. Moderato
6. Presto


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Military Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Jota is from my ballet Suite Espagnole, which was first produced on October 6, 1970, at the Gran Teatro del Liceo Opera House of Barcelona. The choreography was by Jose de Udaeta, with sets by Riera Rojas and Trabal Altes. The ballet was performed by The Harkness Ballet of New York and was commissioned by the Rebekah Harkness Foundation. I have written this present version to provide for the enjoyment of the concert band buffs.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Southeastern Louisiana University (Hammond) Wind Symphony (Robert M. Schwartz, conductor) - 7 March 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Surinach, C. (1978/1980). Jota: From the Ballet Suite espagnole : For Concert Band [score]. Associated Music Publishers: New York, N.Y.