Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Jose Gonzalez Granero

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jose Gonzalez Granero


Jose Gonzalez Granero (b. 1985, Jaén, Spain) is a Spanish clarinetist and composer based in the San Francisco Bay Area

Mr. Gonzalez Granero began the study of music with his father when he was five years old. He studied clarinet and piano at the Elemental Conservatory of Music in Cazorla and the Professional Conservatory of music in Jaén. He took further clarinet studies at the Royal Conservatory in Granada. He graduated from Granada Royal Conservatory, USC Thorton School of Music and The Colburn School in Los Angeles under his mentor Yehuda Gilad.

Mr. Gonzalez was Principal Clarinet of the Andalucia Philharmonic Orchestra (Spain) from 2005-2007. He has also performed as Principal Clarinet with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra (Norway), Odense Symfoniorkester (Denmark), Young Musician Foundation Debut Orchestra ( USA ), Galicia Symphony Orchestra (Spain), City of Granada Orchestra (Spain), Orchestre des Jeunes de la Mediterranee (France), the European Union Youth Wind Orchestra (Luxemburg), toured as a soloist with UC Davis Symphony Orchestra performing Mozart Clarinet Concerto through Spain. In addition, he is an active chamber music player. He has performed with Susan Graham.

Mr. Gonzalez Granero has won numerous competitions and awards, both as a clarinetist and composer, including Grand Prize for exceptional talent and musicianship in the Pasadena Instrumental Competition (2009), First Prize in the Burbank Philharmonic Concerto Competition (2009), Second Place in the Downey Symphony Orchestra Concerto Competition (2009), Second Prize in the Pasadena Instrumental Competition (2008) and Second Prize ‘Ville de Comines-Warneton’ composition competition and semifinalist for Villiers Quartet New Works Composition Competition. His pieces has been published by Scomegna Edizioni Musicali ( Italy ) and Rivera Musica ( Spain ). He recently was the 1st Prize Winner for the Villiers Quartet New Works Composition Competition (London), and he has been nominated twice for the Hollywood Music in Media Awards for his pieces Gypsy and Adventures.

Currently, Mr. Gonzalez Granero alternates his career as principal clarinetist with the San Francisco Opera Orchestra since 2010, and as a composer, premiering pieces with EOS Ensemble, Granada Brass Quintet, Music in May Music Festival and Ensemble SF among others.

Works for Winds