Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Jeffrey Brooks

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jeffrey Brooks


Jeffrey Brooks (b. 1956, Minneapolis, Minn.) is an American composer.

Brooks began studying music at an early age, eventually studying at Tanglewood and Yale University where he earned a masters and doctorate in composition. His teachers included Louis Andriessen, Martin Bresnick, Gilbert Amy, and Alan Forte.

As an advocate of new music, he served as artistic director of the American Composers Forum in the early 1990s and later co-created/produced a radio program called The Composer's Voice for Minnesota and National Public Radio.

Brooks has composed, with few exceptions, instrumental works, from the very small, What Bird Am I Thinking of, for piano trio, to the very large, Dreadnought, John Henry, Funeral Music and Providence, all for forces of sixty-plus musicians.

Works for Winds