Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Jazz Suite No. 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Dmitri Shostakovich

Dmitri Shostakovich

This work is officially entitled Suite for Jazz Orchestra No. 1, but commonly known as Jazz Suite No. 1.

General Info

Year: 1934
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental


1. Waltz in G minor
2. Polka in C major
3. Foxtrot in F♯ minor


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In the 1930s jazz was highly popular in the Soviet Union. Shostakovich was particularly interested in this kind of music, especially as it was practiced within the USSR by his colleagues and friends. So he was delighted when he was asked to write a piece for a small Leningrad dance-band. The result was this charming and tuneful suite in a style combining echoes of Kurt Weill, klezmer and cabaret with more American influences, especially in the darkly hilarious final movement.

There are three movements in all: a soupy and engaging Waltz, a lively Polka with a tricky xylophone solo, and a paradoxically entitled Foxtrot (Blues), which features a notable episode for that pioneering electric instrument, the Hawaiian guitar.

- Program Note by Gerard McBurney


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, Penn.) Wind Ensemble (George Vosburgh, conductor) - 15 October 2022

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Waltz No. 2 (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Brown) (post 1956/2021)

All Wind Works