Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Into the Silent Land

From Wind Repertory Project
Steve Danyewe

Steve Danyew

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 8:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Steve Danyew
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $169.99; (digital) - $169.99   |   Score Only (print) - $35.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubles piccolo)
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum, low (2)
  • Vibraphone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

On December 14, 2012, twenty children and six educators were killed by a gunman at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Sandy Hook, Connecticut. Having grown up in Sandy Hook just a mile from the school, this is where I attended grades 3-5. For the past several years, I have thought about writing a piece of music that would reflect on this tragedy, but I have struggled to know where to start. Even after beginning to sketch out ideas for this piece, I felt unsure of where the piece should go and what it should communicate. In an effort to find a clearer sense of direction, I searched for poetry that reflected how I was feeling. When I came across Remember, a moving poem by Christina Rossetti, I found the direction I was looking for. Through the simple idea of remembering — not forgetting that this happened, not forgetting these children, not forgetting the grief that their families must feel -- I realized this is what I wanted and needed to communicate through music.

The music incorporates elements of a funeral march, as well as a lament, using a descending tetrachord as a ground bass. The funeral march and the lament are combined early in the piece and after the ground bass repeats and grows to a climax, the funeral march gradually fades and a more ethereal music emerges.

Into the Silent Land was commissioned by a consortium of schools and individuals led by Dr. Jared Chase and Nazareth College.

- Program Note by composer


  • National Band Association William D. Revelli Composition Contest, 2018, Finalist

Commercial Discography

None discovered thus far.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Winds of the Mountain Empire (Big Stone Gap, Va.) (Donald Sorah, conductor) – 19 July 2019
  • Santa Clara (Calif.) University Wind Ensemble (Anthony Rivera, conductor) – 23 May 2019
  • Colorado State University Symphonic Band (T. André Feagin, conductor) - 7 May 2019
  • The Ohio State University (Columbus) Honors Scarlet Symphonic Band (Scott A. Jones, conductor) – 20 January 2019
  • Texas Tech University (Lubbock) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Sarah McKoin, conductor; Carson Smith, narrator) - 22 December 2018 (2018 Midwest Clinic)
  • Hartwick College (Oneonta,N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Andy Pease, conductor) – 15 November 2018
  • Washington and Lee University (Lexington, Va.) Wind Ensemble (Christopher Dobbins, conductor; Will Dudley, narrator) – 5 November 2018
  • University of Delaware (Newark) Wind Ensemble (Lauren Reynolds, conductor; Isai Jess Munoz, narrator) – 11 October 2018
  • University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) Symphonic Band (Randall O. Coleman, conductor)- 8 October 2018
  • Florida International University (Miami) Wind Ensemble (Brenton F. Alston, conductor) – 3 October 2018
  • Eastman School of Music (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Orchestra (Mark Scatterday, conductor) – 23 September 2018
  • Florida International University (Miami) Wind Ensemble (Brenton Alston, conductor) - 3 October 2018
  • Eastman Music Educators' Wind Ensemble (Rochester, N.Y.) (Bill Tiberio, conductor) - 2 August 2018
  • Nazareth College (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Symphony (Jared Chase, conductor; Katie Hannigan, narrator) – 8 March 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by this Composer