Into the Joy of Spring

From Wind Repertory Project
James Swearingen

James Swearingen

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 6:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $76.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


1. Winter's Fury
2. Spring's Awakening
3. Celebration of Joy


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Gong, Large
  • Guiro
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal, Large
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibra-slap
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This descriptive piece in three movements paints a musical picture of the transition of seasons from the fury of winter into the blossoming joy of springtime.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by and dedicated to the Ashikaga City Wind Orchestra, Ms. Toshiya Saitoh, conductor. Premier performance on May 27, 2001, in Ashikaga City, Japan

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: V
  • South Carolina: V
  • Tennessee: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Swearingen, J. (2001). Into the Joy of Spring [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.