Intégrales (rev Chou)

From Wind Repertory Project
Edgard Varèse

Edgard Varèse (ed. Chou Wen-chung)

General Info

Year: 1925 / 1980 / 2000
Duration: c. 10:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ricordi
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $29.95


Full Score
Piccolo I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
Trumpet (in D - High)
Trumpet (in C)
Bass Trombone
Contrabass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Chains
  • Chinese Blocks (or Wood Blocks)
  • Gong
  • Lion's Roar (or String Drum)
  • Slap Stick
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Twigs
  • Triangle
  • Wire Brush


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Intégrales was composed during a fruitful period that also produced two of Varèse’s most well-known works for chamber winds, Hyperprism and Octandre. Scored for eleven wind players and an array of percussion instruments, Intégrales employs the idea of “sound-masses” or “sound-clouds,” where instruments are grouped together to obtain a specific timbre. In lectures at the University of New Mexico and Princeton University, Varèse likened the acoustic imagery of his work to a moving geometric figure being projected across a moving surface: “Intégrales was conceived for a spatial projection … consider the changing projection of a geometrical figure onto a plane surface, with both geometrical figure and plane surface moving in space, but each at its own changing and varying speeds of lateral movement and rotation. The form of the projection at any given instant is determined by the relative orientation of the figure and the surface at that instant…” His goal was to create an acoustic representation of mathematical transformations similar to those found in this visual metaphor. Varèse would coin the term “spatial music” in relation to this work specifically, to describe the shifts of his “sound-masses” across space and time.

Intégrales premiered in 1925 under Leopold Stokowski at Aeolian Hall to a surprisingly enthusiastic audience, given their primary exposure to more traditional and less avant-garde works. Though most critics offered negative reviews, the work was performed a second time on the evening of the premiere due to the positive response from audience-goers.

- Program Note from Eastman Wind Ensemble concert program, 9 October 2020


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • New England Conservatory (Boston, Mass.) Wind Ensemble (Charles Peltz, conductor) - 5 October 2022
  • Eastman Wind Ensemble (Rochester, N.Y.) (David Baker, conductor) - 9 October 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Varèse, E.; Wen-Chung Chou (2000). Intégrales: For 11 Wind Instruments And Percussion [score]. Ricordi: Milano.