Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ingrid Stölzel

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ingrid Stölzel


Ingrid Stölzel (b. 14 January 1971, Karlsruhe, Germany) is a German-born composer living in the United States.

Stölzel earned her doctorate degree in composition from the University of Missouri Conservatory of Music and Dance in Kansas City, where she studied with James Mobberley, Chen Yi and Zhou Long. She holds a Master of Music degree in composition from the Hartt School of Music in Hartford, Conn. where her primary composition teachers were Robert Carl and James Sellars. She is assistant professor of composition at the University of Kansas and prior to that served as director of the International Center for Music at Park University.

Dr. Stölzel has been hailed “as a composer of considerable gifts” who is “musically confident and bold” by NPR’s classical music critic. Her music has been described as “tender and beautiful” (American Record Guide) and as creating a “haunting feeling of lyrical reflection and suspension in time and memory” (Classical-Modern Review). At the heart of her compositions is a belief that music can create profound emotional connections with the listener.

Stölzel’s compositions are performed in concert halls and festivals worldwide, including the Beijing Modern Music Festival, Festival of New Music at Florida State, Festival of New American Music, and IC[CM] International Conference on Contemporary Music, among others. She has received commissions and performances from leading ensembles and performers, including the California E.A.R. Unit, Third Angle, Adaskin String Trio, ensemble s21, San Diego New Music, Volti, Khorikos, and Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Gold Medalist, Stanislav Ioudenitch.

She is the winner of the RED NOTE Composition Competition, Ortus International New Music Competition, Cayuga Chamber Orchestra Composers Competition, Arizona Pro Arte Competition, NewMusic@ECU Composition Competition, Cheryl A. Spector Composition Prize and PatsyLu Composition Prize.

Works for Winds


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 488.
  • Ingrid Stölzel website