Independentia March

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Browne Hall

Robert Browne Hall

General Info

Year: 1895 / 1922
Duration: c. 3:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
E-flat Soprano Cornet
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Independentia March was first published by Carl Fischer in 1895; the copyright was renewed in 1922 by Hall's estranged wife, Isabella Hall-Philbrook. At least eight of Hall's other marches were published in 1895. He was living in Waterville, Maine, at that time, was 37 years old, and had established certain principles in the composition of his marches.

As demonstrated by Independentia, Hall's marches were composed primarily for the typical community bands in the New England area around the turn of the century. If the prestigious military and professional bands in the United States and Europe chose to play his music (and they did), that was fine! His marches are gems of simplicity and understatement, composed of flowing melodies and counter-melodies, contrasting dynamics, and occasionally an element of surprise -- as in the two beats of silence (or bass drum or cymbal solos) just before the last strain of this march.

- Program Note from March Music Notes


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer