Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sean O'Loughlin

Sean O'Loughlin

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 2:00
Difficulty: I-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00; (digital) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.50


Full Score
Oboe (optional Flute II)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom, low


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This engaging and powerful work begins with a driving opening section, which features aggressive rhythmic material that sets the tone for the entire piece and introduces the lower voices playing dark, ominous melodic material. Upper voices then split into counterpoint with the low voices, and the counterpoint ultimately splits into three parts before returning to the opening rhythmic idea. A slower, more dramatic contrasting section featuring a haunting melody and lush harmonies follows. The faster pace then returns as percussion reintroduces the opening rhythmic material in a quiet, intense manner. Earlier material is then revisited as the composition builds to an exciting conclusion.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist

Incursion was a collaboration between composer Sean O'Loughlin and the students of the commissioning group. When asked for a dark and scary sounding piece, O'Loughlin delivered in his typical fashion. Aggressive rhythmic figures set the tone of the piece with a foreboding and dark melody in the lower voices. The piece develops through several contrasting sections, providing plenty of exciting variations for students to enjoy.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class D


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works